Press Release

IIGA Annual General Meeting News

Publication Date: Thu, 30 Jun 2011

Tuesday 28th June, Lakeside Park Hotel, Ryde, Isle of Wight. The Annual General Meeting of the Association approved a proposal from the Executive Committee to replace the present Bidding system of Hosting the Games with a negitiation/allocation system. The final decision will be taken at the 2012 AGM in Bermuda.

The results of the elections for the IIGA Executive Committee were as follows:

Chairman Jorgen Pettersson (Aland) and Vice Chairman James Johnston (Shetland) were re-elected unopposed; Treasurer Eric Legg (Guernsey), who was elected Treasurer in 2001 retired and was replaced by Bob McGinnigle (Jersey).  Executive Committee Members Anu Vares (Saaremaa) and Andy Varmon (Isle of Man) were re-elected and will be joined by new Member Solvi Reinert Hansen (Faroe Islands).  Eric Legg was voted an Honorary Life Member of the IIGA and as such will keep in touch with his many friends in the Associaton. The Co-opted Member, representing the next Host Island, will be Paul Scope (Bermuda).

The meeting received reports from the Organising Committees of both future Hosts of the NatWest Island Games - Bermuda 2013 and Jersey 2015.  Also received were intentions to Host the Games from Gotland (2017), Faroe Islands (2019) and Menorca (2021).

The Membership were also informed that the NatWest Sports Development Programme has, since its inception in 1998, awarded a total of £130,000 to assist with the development of sports in the Member Islands. The legacies from this investment remain in place on many Member Islands.

Jorgen Pettersson

IIGA Chairman

All News Items